Executive Board

SICOG (Southern Iowa Council of Governments) is a regional association that serves the counties of Adams, Adair, Clarke, Decatur, Madison, Ringgold, Taylor, and Union. Membership is voluntary and currently includes seven counties and 53 municipalities.

As part of the organization, each county has standing positions on SICOG’s Project Board. The standing positions include: one member from the Board of Supervisors (8 total); one member from the largest, second largest, and third largest member cities in each county (24 total); two private sector representatives from each county (16 total); and one member from a educational institution (Graceland University or Southwestern Community College).

During the project board meetings, the county and city representatives vote to determine who will represent their county on the Executive Board.

In March, at the annual meeting, the Project Board meets to adopt the work program for the upcoming year. At the same time, all of the private sector representatives caucus to select four people to serve on the Executive Board.

The thirteen member (8 public sector county, 4 private sector, and one post secondary) Executive Board governs SICOG throughout the year. The Board meets on the first Tuesday of each month to advise and direct the activities of the organization. Members of the Executive Board also serve on several standing committees. Under the direction of the Executive Board, the organization serves as a forum for the coordination of federal, state, and local governments; private sector planning and development programs; and activities affecting the region.

Current members of the executive board and whom they represent are as follows:

Adair County’s Representative
Jerry Walker, Chairperson
Taylor County’s Representative
Karen Zabel, Secretary
Adams County’s Representative
Scott Akin, Treasurer
Private Sector Representative
Doug Davidson
Representing The Hub
  Clarke County’s Representative
Randy Dunbar
Private Sector Representative
Jodie Geist
Representing Ringgold County Development
Decatur County’s Representative
Sam Wengryn
Private Sector Representative
Raelynne Risser
Representing Adams County Economic Development Corp
Madison County’s Representative
Diane Fitch, Vice Chairperson
Private Sector Representative
Meggen Roan
Representing Meggen Weeks Law
Ringgold County’s Representative
Colby Holmes
Post Secondary Education’s Representative
Wayne Pantini
Southwestern Community College
Union County’s Representative
Rick Friday